PDA

View Full Version : Arizona Man Shoots his Privates; Proves We Should All Use Holsters

auto_boy
27-08-2011, 02:37 AM
There’s a story that has been circulating around the Web for weeks now with a rather gruesome headline: Arizona Man Shoots Himself in Privates. It’s the last thing any firearm owner wants to read about.

Joshua Seto, 27, tried securing his fiance’s pink handgun in the front waistband of his pants while exiting a local convenience store and the gun fired, striking Seto’s manhood and continuing through his left thigh. It’s not a pretty picture.

I know it goes without saying that this readership uses holsters. I would hate to think someone out there gets their tactics from Hollywood or a music video, but I have seen this situation in the article above and keep hearing about this happening. When I was a Police officer in Prince Georges County, Md., I received a call for a gunshot victim that just checked into the local hospital. Upon my arrival, I learned the alleged victim was a guy that actually shot himself while putting a Glock 19 in his waistband.

Even with a holster, if you choose to carry a firearm in what is known as the appendix position, the risk of creating this injury is still present—especially if you have to draw or holster while sitting. There are instructors and firearms enthusiasts out there that swear by this position, due to its level of concealment and speed of draw. I can respect that, but I do not advocate the position. In most personal defense situations, we have to give up something in order to get something. I do not like the safety trade off for speed and concealment. I may just have mental baggage based on my experiences with these type of injuries, but I feel that under extreme stress we run too high a risk of bobbling something.