PDA

View Full Version : Assembly / disassembly

Conceal Carry
26-03-2009, 11:05 PM
Looking at the quality of gunsmiths and their tools (at least in Karachi), I'll have a hard time giving my weapon to them for any repairs / maintenace if required. So I studied and learned to field strip and detailed strip my weapons myself. Now i can assemble and disassemble my weapons (pistols only) fairly easily. I was wondering if other members on the forum also do it. This way we can help each other if they come accross any problems in assembly/disassembly of their weapons.

Note: Please never try to modify / change any part of your weapon unless you have exclusive training to do that. Any such attempt may render your weapon totally useless or unreliable or unsafe.

Glxspk
27-03-2009, 12:13 AM
The instant I buy a weapon I go home & strip it all the way. Its become an obsessive habit.

Balazona
27-03-2009, 07:38 AM
i feild strip my pistols for cleaning but never detailed strip them.BTW i detailed strip my previous shotgun couple of times.detail stripping is a very complicated job.

Saeen
27-03-2009, 09:43 AM
Field Strip only !!! Not so very experienced :)

Daudpota
27-03-2009, 10:22 AM
I normally do it for cleaning. But I have just strip cleaned my pistols and am now worried for a possible malfunction.

As for modification, I used to have a lama .22lr pistol (1911 clone in .22) and it had feeding problems. After I repeatedly failed to get it fixed by a gunsmith of good repute, I stripped it, made some observations and checked out the mechanism. I was surprised that the magazine was defective and the bullet was not coming out of it properly. It was going towards left top and hitting the slide and getting stuck. A slight change in the magazine (alignment of the top portion) resolved the issue.

Always search the net and you will find info on almost any gun. Go ahead and do it, worst case scenario, you'll have to take it to the gunsmith. Regards.

Mohammad
27-03-2009, 10:28 AM