PDA

View Full Version : Gun storage

ehalin
20-12-2012, 09:38 AM
Dear All,

I am new to the PG forums. I knew about PG during a random search on the interned. I could see that this forum is active since a couple of years. Now I regret why I couldn't find about it earlier. People here are very knowledgeable and sincere to their hobby. I could have get lot of useful information and saved myself from a lot of hassle as well that too just reading through the posts.

I want to ask a question regarding which I couldnt find much information in the forum posts. But forgive me if my querry has been already replied somewhere since I couldn't go through everything.

I have a Browning fusion evolve semi auto shotgun. Due to my other commitments I cant use this often and it is kept stored in its original box most of the time. For storing in the original box the gun has to be dismantled and the barrel separted from the receiver. The owners manual recommends to remove the barrel while the bolt is in locked position rearward. After removing the barrel, I slowly release the bolt in order to avoid its hitting forward since barrel is removed. But this keeps the hammer in cocked position. I am afraid of releasing the hammer in this position by just pulling the trigger and damaging something. The owners manual mentions nothing about the position in which hammer should be while the gun is stored in this way. In my case the hammer always remained cocked. It would have been easier had the gun stored in assembled position since in that case I could use an empty shell or a snap cap and pull the trigger to release the hammer.

Can anybody help me in this regard. Since my gun is most of the time not used and I dont want to ruin it without ever getting a chance to use it whenever I have enough time.

Thanks in advance for the help from all experienced seniors,

12GAUGE
20-12-2012, 01:27 PM